Publication in Music and Sonic Art: Theories and Practices

I am delighted to announce that my chapter ‘Beyond the Fixity Fallacy’ has been published in Sonic Art: Theories and Practices – a book Edited by Mine Dogantan-Dack and John Dack (published by CSP). The chapter started out life as a conference paper at MuSA in Karlsruhe, back in 2014, and was written up as a chapter some years later. I’m very grateful for the hard work of Mine and John in making this happen!

A preview of the book (which includes my chapter as a preview chapter) can be found: here!

Winner at SYNC2018 in Russia!!

I am delighted to announce that I have received another prize at SYNC, Russia, as Winner of Degree II (Electroacoustic Music) in Category B (professionals) SYNC2018. The prize is for my latest piece – Helix: Circle of Fifths – which was finished but a few months ago. I shall post an excerpt on here soon. I am delighted to share the prize with my long-standing friend and colleague, Felipe Otondo, and his piece Night Study 3. 

Ténébrisme Launched

I am delighed to announce that Ténébrisme – my new solo CD on the empreintes DIGITALes label is now out, and available to buy. The CD was officially launched during L’espace du Son, Belgium, and received a subsequent UK launch during Sound Junction last weekend. Copies can be ordered here. 

imed_18153_couv rabat_HR3Krgb


Honourable Mention in Beijing

I am delighted to announce that my piece, Would be to Seek, received an honourable mention at Musicacoustica in Beijing. The event – one of the most important electroacoustic festivals in China – has been running for 20 years, and it is very exciting to have featured in their competition for the first time.


L’espace du Son – Jury

Once again, Annette Vande Gorne’s L’espace du Son turned out to be the highlight in my acousmatic calendar – her concerts are always outstanding, with so much attention paid to sound, light, and the audience. It was a great pleasure and an honour to serve on the jury for the international composition competition Metamorphoses.


From left to right:

Lin Shen (public prize), Stephan Dunkelman (Jury), João Pedro Oliveira (Jury), Francis Dhomont (Jury), Roeland Luyten (public prize and First Prize from Jury), Benjamin Thigpen (Jury), Adam Stanović (Jury), Nahuel Eduardo Litwin (Second Prize from Jury).